Frequently Asked Questions

Covid-19 Updates

Covid-19 has affected many industries and businesses, and unfortunately ours is no exception. While international travel is impacted borders are closed our trading hours will be reduced. We are currently open from 9.30 am to 4pm Monday to Friday and  Saturdays 10am to 2pm in our Wollongong store. We will move to longer hours as soon as feasible. Our Warringah Mall store is now only open for online transactions  (eg Travel Card reloads).  

We are constantly working on our systems, policies and procedures to best adapt to these challenging times. We are adopting strategies  that reduce inconvenience whilst maintaining safety of our team and customers. Nothing will ever be perfect and we welcome feedback to assist us as the situation progresses.  

In addition to our usual FAQ items below, we have added a new section directly related to this time. Where relevant, answers in this Covid section supersede the  normal responses. 

Current Operations

Yes, our Wollongong store is open Monday to Friday 9.30am to 4pm and Saturdays from 10am to 2pm. We will still be able to process online transactions outside of these hours (eg Card Reloads).  We will move to longer hours as soon as feasible.  Ouer 

We are updating our rates every day for all currencies we can currently trade in. 

Click here for the latest rates.

The closures of borders and restrictions around flights has meant that the wholesale movement of currency has been massively impacted.

We can only purchase currencies that our wholesaler will buy from us. In turn they are limited to currencies they can clear to the countries of origin.

Health guidelines (locally and the WHO) currently do not class currency as high risk. Normal hand washing procedures are advised. 

In store we have hand sanitiser available and we have gloves for use where practical. 

We are aware of news articles from the last few months, but these are often contradictory. Please be assured we are keeping abreast of the situation and are taking all precautions possible.

We are registered with the NSW COVID safe program. Hand sanitiser will be available to all customers and employees.

Before each trading day we clean the customer and employees areas with anti-bacterial materials. As we move to more regular hours we will undertake a further full professional cleaning, and continue regular professional cleans.   

We are doing everything in our power to keep our prices as close to normal as possible. However, due to wholesale pricing changes and the reduction in customer numbers (particularly sales) some margins have had to be widened. 

At this stage all our services remain fee free. We are hoping this will remain the case, but there may be instances where we need to introduce some fees.

We are not alone in these changes and are doing our best to offer the best prices in our local areas and beyond.  

Ideally. yes. This will help us to reduce the amount of cash handling and the time each customer spends in store. You can pay by internet banking through our website and also by Bpay. 

You can order currency here.

We still have the option for you to pay by cash or Eftpos – or to receive cash back for currency, but electronic payment is our preference.

Ideally, yes. This will help us to reduce the amount of cash handling and the time each customer spends in store. 

You can book in your currency amount here. 

At this stage cash payments will be very limited and our preference is to pay into your bank account where possible. If you need over $1000 Aussie it is best to contact us to check. 

By prepaying you can lock in a rate indefinitely. For pay on the day pick ups or for foreign currency to Australian Dollars we can hold rates for 3 days.  

Our Current Services


Please click on the questions to see our responses.

No, we don’t charge fees or commission.

We consistently have the best in the Illawarra – and further afield.

For Travel Cards our rates are better than with Cash Passport direct – around 1% for most currencies – to load funds onto Cash Passport cards.

In the checkout you can select either Direct Credit (using Poli), BPay or payment in store. You can also choose to pay in store when you collect your currency (cash or EFTPOS). Please note that here is a 1% fee if you choose to pay in store with a credit card.

Ian Spight Pty Ltd owns and operates The Currency Exchange. Our retail outlet is in Wollongong, NSW – and has been for over 20 years. We are locally owned and operated. We’ve been in  

We are agents for the MasterCard Cash Passport and can reload any Platinum cards (as shown here) and non-branded older cards.  

In store we buy and sell foreign currency and sell, reload and cash out Travel Card (MasterCard Cash Passport) 

You can place a currency order online and choose to pay in store or through the online checkout.

Online we load Cash Passport Cards. We can also transfer funds between currencies on your card (eg British pounds to Euro). 

Our retail store is in Wollongong.  More information is available on our find us page.

All online reloads are undertaken in our Wollongong store.

You can purchase a set of Cash Passport cards online directly with MasterCard and then reload them with us later.

Alternatively, if you are near our shop you can come in and purchase a set of cards.

We will reload your cards as soon as we receive the funds. 

For payments by Poli during business hours: by close of business.

For payments by Poli outside business hours: the following morning. 

Payments by Bpay: usually overnight if payment is made before 6pm AEST, otherwise next business day. Please note that banks do not release Bpay funds over weekends. 

If you need your funds quickly we recommend that you select  Poli as your method of payment.   

You can load any combination of: US Dollars, Euro, British Pounds, New Zealand Dollars, Canadian Dollars,  Japanese Yen, Singapore Dollars, Hong Kong Dollars, Thai Baht and UAE Dirhams.

The following countries are currently using the Euro: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Portugal, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Vatican City.

The UK have always used the British pound. Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Croatia and Switzerland each have their own currencies as well.  

As per Federal Government laws we are required to take a copy of ID for all transactions.

We will need to sight and scan an original copy of your Passport, Driver’s licence or other government Photo ID.

We are working on a process for the new Digital Driver’s Licences as they cannot be scanned. It is safest to bring your physical card if you have not used our services before.

Thank you for your understanding and cooperation.

If you need more information or have a question not covered here, please don’t hesitate to contact us.